Get out and about this summer and explore the history of our town of Fuquay-Varina! What better way to celebrate the Year of the Trail AND National Parks and Recreation Month than by strolling some of Fuquay’s beautiful parks?
FIRST PARK UP?
Ashworth Park, home to significant historical Town treasures while boasting a beautiful shaded, landscaped park area. Around the park find an original tobacco barn, a playhouse from the Johnson House, a caboose, and the sculpture Ghost Farmers! There is much to learn as you walk around the park area.
HISTORY BEHIND THE PARK –
Ashworth Park is the original home place of Rufus and Cornelia Ashworth, who married on January 12, 1918 during World War 1. The couple moved to Fuquay-Varina in 1922 and built their home at 112 Aiken Street around 1927 and expanded it over the years to accommodate their growing family. In 1937 Rufus opened his own clothing store, Ashworth’s Clothing, and operated it until his death in June of 1970. Cornelia continued to live in the Aiken Street home place until her death at the age of 97 on December 16, 1995. The generations of Ashworth’s that followed have contributed significantly to the Town of Fuquay-Varina making it a better community. Ashworth’s Clothing remains on Main Street in Fuquay-Varina. Ashworth Park was dedicated on October 8, 2014.